Painting Folio Ideas

In the area of painting, I’m currently playing around with the ideas of maps and mapping multiple ideas and layering in my work. Due to the spiritual philosophy behind my work being extremely difficult to illustrate visually, I’ve decided to use the migratory patterns of the monarch butterfly as a metaphor for my spiritual journey and experiences.  At the moment I’m experimenting with handmade paper maps,  the possibility of artist books involving maps , inventing map symbols and creating postcard-type pictures resembling  “snapshot’ like images of the monarch and its experiences.  With these visual tools, I will hopefully be able to make  a parallel comparison between the journey of the monarch and my spiritual life, which is quite challenging to express to others in an effective way.

One thought on “Painting Folio Ideas

Leave a Reply

